TRANSATLANTIC kündigen Mammut-Veröffentlichung "Live At Morsefest 2022: The Absolute Whirlwind" an

TRANSATLANTIC, die Prog-Supergroup um Neal Morse (ex-SPOCK'S Beard), Mike Portnoy (DREAM THEATER), Roine Stolt (THE FLOWER KINGS) und Pete Trewavas (MARILLION), hat die Veröffentlichung von "Live At Morsefest 2022: The Absolute Whirlwind" für den 26. April 2024 angekündigt.

Das limitierte 5CD + 2 Blu-ray Artbook-Set inkl. 36-seitigem Booklet mit Fotos und Liner Notes enthält beide Sets vom Morsefest 2022 in ihrer Gesamtheit, mit insgesamt fast 4,5 Stunden Musik.

Zeitgleich mit der Ankündigung hat die Band einen Live-Clip des Songs "Can You Feel It" veröffentlicht:

In der ersten Nacht spielte die Band ihr klassisches Album "The Whirlwind" in seiner Gesamtheit, das erste Mal seit 10 Jahren. An diesem Abend wurden auch "Into the Blue" und "Shine" aus dem vierten Album "Kaleidoscope" sowie die Ballade "We All Need Some Light" gespielt. Als Überraschung gaben TRANSATLANTIC einen Song zum Besten, den sie noch nie live gespielt hatte: ihre Coverversion des PROCOL HARUM-Klassikers "In Held 'Twas In I" vom ersten Album "SMPTe".
In der zweiten Nacht wurde die komplette "The Absolute Universe - The Ultimate Edition" aufgeführt, die alle Titel der beiden Versionen des Albums vereint. Der Abend endete mit einem Medley aus Titeln der ersten beiden Alben der Band, darunter "All of the Above", "My New World" und "Stranger In Your Soul".

Zum ersten Mal trat die Band zusammen mit einem Chor und einer Streichergruppe auf, was diese Shows zu etwas ganz Besonderem für die Anwesenden machte.

Mike Portnoy sagt:

Not to be confused by last years live release of our last show in Paris, THIS release of TA at Morsefest 2022 represents the most epic and mammoth of all TA Live releases!
2 Nights, 2 completely different sets, 2 TA concept albums done in their entirety…accompanied with Strings, Horns, Percussion, Female Vocals, etc…Transatlantic has always been about “More Never Is Enough”, but no live TA release has ever been more EPIC than this one…It’s the ULTIMATE Live TA experience!

Neal Morse fügt hinzu:

At long last, a musical dream come true in true epic fashion! To play The Absolute Universe, The Whirlwind, and other great pieces of music with Transatlantic, along with an amazing string section, background singers, etc. What more could any musician ask for? This is the very best of the very best in my view. I hope you all enjoy experiencing this as much as we enjoyed performing it!

Roine Stolt ergänzt:

Playing Morsefest was quite a task, learning all the different material for the 2 different shows. We even got a chance to play that Procol Harum tune, that is dear to me & takes me back to my teenage years, just getting to know what prog is/was. The addition of the strings and choir at Morsefest, plus Philip adding percussion lent a different and perhaps more of an orchestral side. That worked really well and made these 2 nights very special.

Pete Trewavas sagt:

To play Morsefest 2022 was an absolute pleasure for me and gave us a natural break at the end of the North American leg of The Absolute Universe tour, where we regrouped at Neal’s to rehearse for the two shows, back where we had rehearsed for the tour some four or five weeks earlier. We had 3 days I think it was to refresh The Whirlwind full version and learn ‘In Held T’was In I’. The festival was an absolute blast. We were all super relaxed and enjoying ourselves probably due to the little break from touring back to rehearsing.
Neal had been wanting to get Transatlantic at MorseFest since we released Whirlwind and it never panned out for various reasons, so it felt fitting that we got it all together for The Absolute Universe tour.

"Live At Morsefest 2022: The Absolute Whirlwind" Trackliste:

Night 1
1. Into The Blue
2. In Held ('Twas) In I
3. Shine
4. We All Need Some Light
5. Overture/Whirlwind
6. The Wind Blew Them All Away
7. On The Prowl
8. A Man Can Feel
9. Out Of The Night
10. Rose Colored Glasses
11. Evermore
12. Set Us Free
13. Lay Down Your Life
14. Pieces of Heaven
15. Is It Really Happening?
16. Dancing With Eternal Glory/Whirlwind (Reprise)

Night 2
1. Overture
2. Reaching For The Sky
3. Higher Than The Morning
4. The Darkness In The Light
5. Take Now My Soul
6. Bully
7. Rainbow Sky
8. Looking For The Light
9. The World We Used To Know
10. The Sun Comes Up Today
11. Love Made A Way (Prelude)
12. Owl Howl
13. Solitude
14. Belong
15. Lonesome Rebel
16. Can You Feel It
17. Looking For The Light (Reprise)
18. The Greatest Story Never Ends
19. Love Made A Way
20. Bridge Across Forever
21. The Final Medley